Nica-fabulous

I’m going to Nicaragua in January!

Don’t worry too much because I’m only going for ten weeks. I’m doing one of those International Citizen Service things. About a year and a half ago, I sat twiddling my thumbs in my kitchen, worrying about what I would do once I graduated. I was quite concerned that despite being about to complete modern foreign languages degree, I still was basically unable to speak any modern foreign languages. My house mate told me about her cousin. My house mate seems to have a LOT of cousins (unless they’re actually all the same person?). She said her cousin had gone abroad with the International Citizen Service, to volunteer, and I thought, “that sounds great”.

I never had time to do it last year, because I went to Seville. In Seville I FINALLY learnt how to speak Spanish. Once I came back, I became one of those people who drops Spanish words into normal conversation on accident. The last time I did this my colleague promptly responded “you’re SUCH a dickhead.” People can be so harsh sometimes right!? I’m just trying to get by.

Anyway the point I’m trying to make is, I’m going to Nicaragua in January! The first thing most people say is, Where is Nicaragua? So I drew a map with my finger:

map of nicaragua

If that map is wrong PLEASE tell me because I’m really proud of it and I don’t want to be embarrassed. I’m not really much of an expert on Nicaragua (YET), so I’ve been reading all about it. As you can see for the professional quality map (custom maps available on request for a fee) it is in Central America. It spans from the Pacific Ocean to the Caribbean Sea. It has a history of America getting “involved” in its political system which surprisingly hasn’t worked out so well, but I’m going to keep learning about that before I write about that.

International Citizen’s Service sends British young people to work with young people from developing countries, and together they volunteer on community/international development projects. The idea being, the local community gains from the volunteer work, the young people from that country gain from the volunteer work and so do the British people who are involved in it. I don’t know what my project is going to be, but I know I’m going with the charity Progressio:

Progressio, an international development charity, helps poor and marginalised people gain power over their lives and overcome barriers keeping them poor

Sounds right up my street!

Nicaragua is the second poorest country in Latin America (after Haiti), and has experienced dictatorships, civil wars and natural disasters. The work that Progressio does involves supporting tourism and environmental work (I think that means digging? Mind you when I was in Seville and meant to be working on environmental community development I basically face painted children for three months).

I’ve prepared an “artist’s impression” of how I’m going to look when I do get to Nicaragua, as I’m sure it’s hard for everyone to imagine at this point…

me in nicaragua with a turtle

Until I go I’m going to be raising money for Progressio. I’ve tried to come up with different ways of doing this. I’ve been spending a lot of my time researching making candles and I’m going to do a SPONSORED SWIM! Lol! Details to come soon, until then you can w-h-e-t your appetites by reminding yourself just how much I’m scared of water.

Lorra love,

Sarah

PS I swapped my blog from blogger to wordpress – isn’t that exciting!? It took SO LONG, I’ve achieved NOTHING else all day.

Leave a Reply

