Best Breakfast/Brunch in Seville: Cristina &Co Review

Salmon and avocado tartar at Cristina and Co.

The Spaniards do a lot of things well, but when it comes to breakfast, I’m still not convinced. Most of the traditional bodegas will serve you toast with different toppings, coffee, orange juice and a variety of eggs. But they lack those fresh and zingy breakfast options that are really popular in the UK…

Now when VIP was visiting we woke up on a Saturday morning feeling tender and delicate after a night out. By the time we’d pulled ourselves together and dragged ourselves out of the house, it was too late for breakfast. But we are cosmopolitan and metropolitan people, so we knew we could handle brunch with ease and grace. When I’m hungover, I always feel like I want to line my insides with grease and bacon fat, but I’ve realised the best way to feel better is to eat something green.

After a quick browse on Trip Advisor I decided we should head to Catalina&Co. Look at its smooth grey windows!! Its so sharp! It’s by the university on the large street that the tram goes down to get to Puerta Jerez. This meant that we got a bit of sunshine on us as we ate. The service was friendly and the refreshing and tasty food was JUST THE TICKET!

What to order: So I went for the salmon and avocado tartar. And it was just divine, fresh, zingy and delicious. Its exactly what you want.
The croquetas were a bit upper class as they were shredded meat inside, as opposed to the usual doughy paste.
VIP ordered this incredible …. thing … that I can only describe as potato and egg bacon cake. Like everything else, it was served stylishly. Lots of sliced, fried potato was bound together with eggs to make a kind of cake, and it was surrounded with a cage of bacon. It was a pretty spot on breakfast dish.

Not so great: Oh my god, VIP got a beer. I don’t know how he did it, but it hurts me just thinking about it.

The prices are around £2,50 for a tapa, and its excellent quality.
The restaurant is Calle San Fernando.

TOP TIP: I haven’t been for breakfast myself but, on the grapevine, I’ve heard very good things about Azotea
I’m still on the lookout for more unique and refreshing tapas bars in Seville, if you have a recommendation then let me know and I’ll try it out!

Leave a Reply

